Confident Lucy head to Equatorial Guinea for Women’s Championship

  • PDF

Addis Ababa, October 24 (WIC) – Lucy, the Ethiopian women national football team, this morning traveled to Equatorial Guinea to compete in the 2012 African Women’s Championship (AWC).

Coach Abraham Teklehaimanot and team captain Bizuhan Endale oozed confidence at a press conference held yesterday before departing to Equatorial Guinea for the 8th African Women Championship.

The Ethiopian team faces a stern task of qualifying from a group stage which included the likes of seven times champions and current holders Nigeria, Ivory Coast, and Cameroon in Group B.

“We have been preparing well for the competition and we hope to come back with the best result,” Abraham Teklehaimanot said. Starting from September 2, the team alternated between Addis Ababa and Modjo preparing for the AWC.

Skipper Bizuhan said their sight is set far beyond Equatorial Guinea.
“We have prepared well. We want to get good results and qualify for the World Cup Competition in Canada,” she said.

Ethiopia will open its account on Monday, October 29, 2012 against Ivory Coast. The other teams in the group are also scheduled on the same day. Hosts Equatorial Guinea are drawn in group A alongside South Africa, Senegal and DR Congo.

Equatorial Guinea will get the championship underway against South Africa in the opening match to be played on 2th October at Nouveau Stade in Malabo.  Senegal and DR Congo will play the second match of the championship afterwards in the same stadium.

The team was given a moral boost before their departure at Sheraton Addis whose owner, Sheikh Mohammed Al Amoudi, gave five million birr to the team for qualifying to AWC. Ethiopia thumped Egypt 6-4 on aggregate in the first round and Tanzania 3-1 on aggregate in the second round to qualify for the competition.

Coach Abraham has named 21 member women squad for the competition.

Goalkeepers: Liya Shiberu, Dagmawit Mekonnen and Israel Ketema. Defenders: Bizunesh Sisay, Helen Seifu, Bizuhan Endale, Woinzhet Tsegaye, Hiwot Dangiso, TIruanchi Mengesha, Adanech Getachew and Kelemua Mulugeta
Midfielders: Eden Shiferaw, Zuleika Juhad, Birtukan Girma, Tutu Belay, Aynalem Wondimu, Kidist Bogale and Akberet G. Tsadik
Strikers: Shetaye Sisay, Rehima Zerga and Birtukan G. Kristos

Visitors Counter

mod_vvisit_counterThis week158937
mod_vvisit_counterLast week208463
mod_vvisit_counterThis month625725
mod_vvisit_counterLast month1147369
mod_vvisit_counterAll days( since may 28, 2013)14179184

We have: 178 guests, 62 bots online
Today: Aug 23, 2014