Second Ethio-Kenya technical boundary committee meeting held in Hawassa

  • PDF

Addis Ababa, 30 July 2014 (WIC) - The 2nd Joint Ethio-Kenyan Technical Boundary Committee met in Hawassa, the capital of Southern Nations, Nationalities and Peoples RegionalState last week (July 21-26) to draw up a Joint Inspection and Maintenance Program to cover Sectors 2, 3 and 4 of the common boundary between Ethiopia and Kenya.

Sector 1 of the boundary was dealt with last year, May-July 2013.

The Kenyan side was headed by Ephantus M. Murage, Director of Boundaries, at the Ministry of Interior; the Ethiopian delegation was led by Wuhib Muluneh, Advisor, International Boundaries, Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The meeting was conducted smoothly and in a very cooperative atmosphere.

It worked out as details of the budget and timeline and agreed to submit its joint report to the concerned authorities of both countries for approval and guidance. (MoFA)