AU Ministers Wrap up Bahir Dar Retreat

  • PDF

Addis Ababa, 27 January 2014 (WIC) – The first African Union Ministerial Retreat held in the city of Bahir Dar concluded today after deliberations on Agenda 2063 Framework, which seeks to elaborate the continental body’s agenda for the next fifty years.
The three day retreat concluded by adopting a working document highlighting fifty years vision for Africa. The document also identified the threats and risks facing the continent and Africa’s opportunities.
Speaking at the closing of the Retreat Ethiopia’s foreign minister and chairperson of the AU Executive Council Dr. TedrosAdhanom thanked the participants for a “very enriching and very insightful debate on where we want Africa to be in the next 50 years.”
Agenda 2063 will be considered by the 22nd Ordinary Session of the Assembly of AU Heads of State and Government on 30th January. The final adoption is expected to be done at the 23rd Ordinary Session of the Assembly in June/July 2014.
The communique that came out after the conclusion of the Retreat noted that the dream of an Africa that is integrated, peaceful and prosperous is achievable provided that actions are taken now to construct the future.
The Retreat also identified key strategic initiatives for 2014 aimed at giving added impetus to fast-track the continent’s socio-economic and political development through Agenda 2063.
Accelerating human capital development and regional integration and strengthening financial independence of key continental bodies as well as strengthening efforts to end conflicts were among the key initiatives proposed.   
Hosted by the Ethiopian Government and the African Union Commission (AUC), the retreat was held under the theme “Defining Agenda 2063 for Africa”.
The retreat was attended by the AU Foreign Ministers and Members of the Executive Council; Dr. Carlos Lopez, Executive Secretary of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa; Dr. NkosazanaDlaminiZuma, AUC Chairperson; Erastus Mwencha, Deputy Chairperson of the AU Commission; AU Commissioners, and members of the PRC and other officials.